NYLA’s Distinguished Service Award

[Previously known as the Above & Beyond Award which replaced the Lifetime Achievement Award]

This award cycle began on Wednesday, June 5th, and will close on July 12th. 

Nomination Form


This award recognizes an individual who has made a significant commitment to the advancement of the profession, both by service to their institution and service to NYLA.

The Distinguished Achievement Award will be presented to a NYLA member who meets the following criteria:

  • Active NYLA member for at least 10 years
  • Has made a substantial contribution to the profession and the Association

*This award is for NYLA members who have been involved in all capacities, not just librarians and not just from the largest sections.


The recipient will receive an engraved plaque and recognition at NYLA’s Annual Conference.

The recipient will be acknowledged at the Awards Banquet at NYLA’s Annual Conference, on NYLA's website, and in the NYLA Voice.

Previous Recipients

2023 - Kelly Harris, John Jermain Memorial Library

2022 - Melissa Jacobs, New York City Office of Library Services


The NYLA Distinguished Service Award replaced the Above & Beyond Award

Previous Above & Beyond Award Recipients

  • 2020 - Dr. Barbara Stripling
  • 2019 - Jean Sheviak
  • 2018 - Carol Desch
  • 2017 - Kathy Miller
  • 2016 - Rocco Staino
  • 2015 - Richard Naylor
  • 2014 - Lisa Wemett

The NYLA Above and Beyond Award replaced the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Previous Lifetime Achievement Recipients

  • 2013 - Marcia Eggleston and Meg Van Patten
  • 2011 - Sarah Kelly Johns
  • 2010 - Frances R. Roscello