Thank You Immediate Past President, Barbara Stripling and Our Governance Committee!

Over the past few months, our Governance Committee has taken a fine tooth comb and have read through and made significant edits and clarifications to our bylaws. In the upcoming weeks, we will share the edits made by the Committee and approved by Council with membership so every member is prepared to vote on these changes at the Annual Membership Meeting. Another big thank you to our Governance Committee, especially our Immediate Past President, Barbara Stripling for taking on this important initiative!

Update From Executive Director Search Committee

At the Special Council Meeting on October 7th, Council approved the charge, timeline, and compotion of the Executive Director Search Committee. Please see below the approved measure.

Committee Charge
The Executive Director Search Committee will:

  • Create, advertise, and promote the Executive Director job posting,
  • Screen and interview candidates, and
  • Recommend final candidate(s) to the Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee will review the recommendation and present it to Council for approval.


The Executive Director Search Committee will begin work on Friday, October 8, 2021, and have a recommendation for review by the Executive Committee by December 10, 2021.

The Executive Committee will present their recommendation to Council at the December 16, 2021, Council Meeting.

The Executive Director will be in place by January 10, 2022.


  • Geoff Kirkpatrick, Chair (Bethlehem Public Library)
  • Beth Merkle, President (The Strong National Museum of Play)
  • Barbara Stripling, Immediate Past-President (iSchool, Syracuse University) Arlene Laverde, President-Elect (Townsend Harris High School)
  • Kelly Harris, Treasurer (Hampton Library)
  • Simone Yearwood, Councilor-at-Large (Queens College) Sarah Glogowski (Finger Lakes Library System)
  • Kerry Burch (Washington-Saratoga-Warren-Hamilton-Essex BOCES) Kathy Gundrum (Capitol District Library Council)

NYLA Council Special Election - Vote for you Next Treasurer-Elect by 10/18!

At the September 16, 2021 meeting, NYLA Council approved the Nominating Committee’s recommendation of the following candidates for Treasurer-Elect: Frank McKenna (Seaford Public Library) and Jessica Pacciotti (Warner Public Library). 

Now, it is time to vote for your next NYLA Treasurer-Elect! This special election will run from October 4-18, 2021, via electronic ballot.

You MUST be an active NYLA Member in order to vote in this election. Your vote is anonymous and you can ONLY vote once. If you want to learn more about the candidates, please click on their images below for a full bio an candidate statement.



Update on Annual Membership Meeting

During the NYLA 2021 Conference & Trade Show, NYLA members will have the opportunity to use their voice and vote on important measures that will push our association forward into the future. Whether you are attending the Membership Meeting in-person or virtually, you will be able to cast your vote for YOUR association - so we are dedicated to making sure you know exactly what you will be voting on ahead of time. 

In the next few weeks, we will share a comprehensive agenda that will include items our members will be voting on such as amending the bylaws of the New York Library Association. 

In the meantime, please mark your calendars for this important Membership Meeting. If you are attending virtually, please make sure to register using the link provided below. Thank YOU for being an active NYLA member and shaping our Association with us. 

Mark Your Calendars
Date: Thursday, November 4th at NYLA Conference in Syracuse
Time: 8:00AM - 9:00AM
Are you attending VIRTUALLY? Register Here!

Please Note
: If you are attending #NYLA2021 in-person, you do NOT need to register via Zoom. If you are attending virtually, please note that you will receive your login details at least 72 hours after you register. We are manually approving registrants to prevent Zoom Bombing. Thank you for your patience!

If you have any questions about the Annual Membership Meeting or NYLA Council related, please contact our NYLA Council  President, Beth Merkle at