NYLA Awards

NYLA advances excellence in New York libraries.  One example of this is through recognizing excellence via our awards.


NYLA Awards

These awards are organized by the Awards & Recognition Committee and are awarded during the Annual Conference & Trade Show in November annually.

Lake Placid First Time Conference Stipend (CLOSED FOR 2023)

NYLA Empire State Academic Scholarship  (CLOSED FOR 2023)

Mary Bobinski Innovative Public Library Director (CLOSED FOR 2023)

Distinguished Service Award (CLOSED FOR 2023)

Librarian of the Year Awards (CLOSED FOR 2023)

School Librarian of the Year

Public Librarian of the Year

Academic Librarian of the Year

NYLA Unit Awards - To Be Updated 

Non-Active Awards

These awards are either being revamped or inactive. Please check back for when these awards may be reactivated. 

NYLA-NYLBC Diversity & Inclusion Conference Scholarship

Senator Hugh Farley Outstanding Advocate for Libraries Award

NYLA Awards & Recognition Committee


The Awards & Recognition Committee is responsible for the promotion, coordination and administration of NYLA’s awards.  Additionally, the committee seeks opportunities to advance NYLA, and Units via awards offered by other organizations. The Committee will promote and recruit nominations for awards on an ongoing basis, and may bring forward nominees for any award.  Annually, the committee will review the criteria for all awards to ensure they are current and in alignment with the goals for each award. Nominations will be retained for 2 years after their original year of submission. Names of nominees must be presented to and approved by the NYLA Council.  
In addition, the Committee shall monitor and nominate NYLA members or Sections for awards presented by other professional organizations.  The Committee shall also publicize all NYLA awards, and shall assist in planning the presentation of all awards as appropriate.  


The chair is appointed by the NYLA President-Elect for a one year term.  The NYLA President-Elect also appoints two at-large members who serve for a three-year term.  Each Section shall appoint a representative to serve on the committee for a renewable one-year term.  All appointments shall start and end in conjunction with the Annual Conference.

Awards & Recognition Committee Roster