New York Library Association. - The eBulletin

Geospatial Literacy from NY3Rs

The NY3Rs Association, Inc. (NY3Rs) comprises the nine Reference and Research Library Resources multi-type systems in New York State. It enables libraries to better serve their users through dynamic programs, innovative collaborations, and shared resources. Its continuing education program offers opportunities for you to participate in classes and workshops without traveling, and sometimes even on your own schedule! The classes are held monthly and address a wide variety of topics. Topics are selected by a steering committee that includes representation from each of the nine 3Rs councils.

In April, you’ll be able to work at your own pace and learn about Geospatial Literacy with expert Eva Dodsworth. This class will be available in asynchronous mode from April 21 through May 5. The two-week class consists of a combination of recorded lectures, demonstrations, and hands-on tutorials. Created specifically for library staff, this course will provide students with an introduction to the latest and greatest "geo" technologies currently being used by library administrators, librarians, library support staff, and library users.  To register, click here.  Participants can access and complete the on-demand tutorials and assignments at their convenience during the two-week period, receiving online feedback and guidance from the course facilitator as-needed. Eva Dodsworth is the Geospatial Data Services Librarian and Geospatial Centre Coordinator at the University of Waterloo Library, responsible for the provision of leadership and expertise in developing, delivering, and assessing geospatial data services and programs offered to members of the uWaterloo community. She is also a part-time instructor at the University of Tennessee, University of Wisconsin and Kent State University Library Science Programs.

Zotero for Libraries will take place on May 8. This webinar will feature a brief practical demonstration to show how Zotero works. The demonstration will be followed by a discussion of library support issues, the implications of open source, and how the presenter’s institution has implemented Zotero in terms of teaching,  documentation,  and strengths and weaknesses compared to similar tools.  Instructor Jason Puckett is the Communication Librarian at Georgia State University, and has written several articles, book chapters and a book on Zotero and open source applications for libraries. He blogs at http://jasonpuckett.net

Have an idea or a suggestion for web-based training? Please let us know! We want to be responsive to the training needs of our member libraries. Feel free to contact any member of our task force:

Chris Walker, CDLC – cwalker@cdlc.org
Deirdre Joyce, CLRC – djoyce@clrc.org
Min Liu, LILRC – minliu@lilrc.org
John Hammond, NNYLN – john@nnyln.org
Laura Forshay, METRO – lforshay@METRO.org
Laura Osterhout, RRLC – losterhout@rrlc.org
Nora Hardy, SCRLC – nhardy@scrlc.org
Tessa Killian – killian@senylrc.org
Jaclyn McKewan, WNYLRC – jmckewan@wnylrc.org