New York Library Association. - The eBulletin

Members on the Move

Please note that Members on the Move will be running every other issue.  It will next be featured in the February 2013 edition.  Please keep an eye out for a call for submissions in News You Can Use in mid-January.  All content must be sent to no later than January 25.

NYLA honored several individuals and organizations for their support, leadership and advocacy of libraries and intellectual freedom at the Conference last month. 

The NYLA Outstanding Advocate for Libraries Award recognizes and honors an individual who has made a far reaching, sustained contribution to the promotion and/or support of library and information services to the people of New York.   It was presented to the New Yorkers for Better Public Libraries PAC.  The PAC was established in 2003 by library leaders who believe that there is a need to supplement the library community’s advocacy efforts with campaign contributions and other activities directed toward those in Albany who can really help libraries.  

The NYLA Outstanding Services to Libraries Award recognizes and honors an individual who has made a significant, sustained contribution to the development, promulgation, growth or extension of library/information services to the people of New York.  This year, it was presented to long-time NYLA member, Sam Simon.  He is recognized for his work on the Intellectual Freedom Committee and the Intellectual Freedom Roundtable, including helping to write the NYLA Intellectual Freedom Handbook.  Simon was the Director of the Finkelstein Memorial Library during his career, and continues as a retiree as a trustee of the Ramapo Catskill Library System.

The SirsiDynix Intellectual Freedom Award recognizes an individual, group, or organization that furthers the cause of intellectual freedom in New York State. This year’s award was presented to Norman Siegel. Siegel is spearheading litigation against the City of New York for seizing, and/or wantonly destroying almost 3,000 books from the library maintained on behalf of Occupy Wall Street in Zuccotti Park.  Norman Siegel's activities in defense of the First Amendment and its core values have been consistent, persistent and highly effective.   He is a committed, principled, and excellent advocate.

The Mary Bobinski Innovative Public Library Director Award recognizes a public library director who has developed or implemented an innovative program leading to an increase in financial support and/or usage of their library.  It was awarded to Susan Considine, Director of the Fayetteville Free Library.  Over the past two years, Sue has implemented a number of innovative programs including developing a staffing model that includes current students from the Syracuse University iSchool.   As a result of this team model, students and the Fayetteville Free Library staff are continuously identifying new opportunities for the community to learn and coming together making the library better every day. As a result, Sue has raised the profile of the library, continuously improving its evolving services.  Evidence of her success is shown through a $10,000 award at Contact Innovation Summit in New York City; a $260,000 New York State Construction Grant award for the Business Center and Fab Lab; and an 8% regular operating budget increase via referendum vote in May of this year.

With sponsorship from the Lake Placid Foundation, NYLA also recognized 5 students with the annual Dewey Scholarship Award, which provides financial assistance to enable an interested and deserving student to pursue a Master’s Degree in Library Science at an ALA-accredited library school in New York State. 

The recipients were:

Tessa Brawley, Syracuse University
Jennifer Daddio, CUNY/ Queens College
Abigail Orian Garnett, Long Island University/Palmer School
Amanda Koziura, University of Buffalo
Tor Loney, Unviersity at Albany

Also sponsored by the Lake Placid Foundation, Dewey Fellowships are awarded to three NYLA members, selected by designated Sections, to attend the NYLA Annual Conference. 

This year’s winners:
Suz Massen
Lisa Hewel
April Steenburgh

Congratulations to each of our winners, and we thank you for your continued efforts to better serve New York's libraries.