IFRT Intellectual Freedom Roundtable


The purpose of the Intellectual Freedom Roundtable is to provide a forum for the membership of NYLA in which to exchange information, develop special educational and informational programs, and provide support for the activities of NYLA’s Intellectual Freedom Committee in promoting freedom of acquisition, dissemination, and maintenance of library materials, services, and programsFrank McKenna, President

Special Topic: Meeting Rooms

ALA OIF response to the new interpretation

Library Meeting Rooms for all / OIF blog

Policy Allowing Hate Groups to Meet in the Library Comes Under Fire / LA Times

Free Speech Debate Erupts / School Library Journal

Yes, Hate Groups Can Hold Meetings in Libraries Too / Reason

Libraries Can't Afford to Welcome Hate / socialworker.org

Who's Welcome Here? / Library Babel Fish Blog

See also 

ALA Meeting Rooms, Exhibit Space & Programs

ALA First Amendment and Censorship

ALA Hate Speech and Hate Crime


If you find yourself being challenged, you are not alone in your fight. Please report your challenge to the American Library Association's Office of Intellectual Freedom and notify Jeremy Johannesen, NYLA Executive Director.  For advocacy information, see ALA's  Intellectual Freedom: Issues and Resources  page. 

Consider doing some public awareness and participate in  Banned Books Week or Choose Privacy Week  


Core Documents of IF

Library Bill of Rights

Code of Ethics of the American Library Association

Core Values Statement

Freedom to Read Statement

Freedom to View Statement

ALA Schools and Minors Rights

ALA Academic Freedom

Guidelines for the Development and Implementation of Policies, egulations and Procedures Affecting Access to Library Materials, Services and Facilities

Statement on Library Use of Filtering Software

School Library Media Centers and Intellectual Freedom

ALA Social Media Guidelines for Public and Academic Libraries


Other IF organizations  

National Coalition Against Censorship

Freedom to Read Foundation

New York Civil Liberties Union

Center for Democracy and Technology

Comic Book Legal Defense Fund  

Foundation for Individual Rights in Education