Past Speakers at the RASS Noted Author Luncheon

RASS Noted Author 2017: Dana Spiotta

Dana Spiota, author of Innocents and OthersDana Spiotta is the author of four novels: Innocents and Others (2016), a finalist for the Los Angles Times Book Prize; Stone Arabia (2011), which was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award; Eat the Document(2006), which was a finalist for the National Book Award; and Lightning Field (2001). Spiotta was a Guggenheim Fellow, a New York Foundation for the Arts Fellow, and was awarded the 2008-9 Rome Prize from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. She lives in Syracuse and teaches in the Syracuse University MFA program.



RASS Noted Author 2016: Kerry Egan

Kerry Egan is the author of On Living (October 2016) and Fumbling: A Pilgrimage Tale of Love, Grief, and Spiritual Renewal on the Camino de Santiago, a Barnes and Noble Discover Great New Writers pick. A hospice chaplain and a graduate of Harvard Divinity School, her essays on about working with the dying have been read more than 2 million times. She and her work have been featured on CNN’s morning edition and on PBS’s Religion and Ethics Newsweekly. She was the Writer-in-Residence at the Aspen Institute’s AspenWords program last fall, where she read from her in-progress manuscript of On Living to a standing-room-only crowd. She and her family live in Columbia, South Carolina.

2015 Mia Alvar [Note: Originally Kim Edwards was the Noted Author, but she had to cancel this appearance. We were glad to have Mia Alvar step in.]

2014 Julia Spencer Fleming

2013 Will Schwalbe

2012 Hillary Jordan

2011 Larry Kirwan

2010 Scott Spencer

2009 Lawrence Hill

2008 Colum McCann

2007 Susan Cheever

2006 Francisco Goldman

2005 Nancy Pearl

2004 Katharine Weber

2003 Robert J. Sawyer

2002 Francine Prose

2001 Joanne Dobson

2000 Janet Fitch

1999 Elizabeth Berg

1998 Ron Chernow

1997 Donna Woolfolk Cross

1996 Sven Birkets

1995 Andrew Vachss

1994 Lawrence Block

1993 Michael Wallis

1992 Susan Isaacs

1990 Mary Higgins Clark

1989 Anne La Bastille