New York Library Association. - The eBulletin

Executive Director's Report

by Jeremy Johannesen, NYLA Executive Director

Is The Best Conference Ever Sustainable?

Every year we promote the NYLA Annual Conference as “The Best Conference Ever”.  Together with a small army of volunteers, each year we strive to make the conference a bit better than the year before.  This year will be no exception, as over one thousand of the best and brightest librarians from across the state come together for three days with the express purpose of developing themselves and the profession.

NYLA 2016: Strong. Strategic. Sustainable.

This year’s conference will feature a keynote address by futurist Garry Golden; appearances by Julia Claiborne, Kerry Egan, Steve Sheinkin and more; the NYLA-Dewy Scholarship Fund Benefit Event will feature live music from returning-favorite Double Axel; a 3.5 mile Fun-Run; Battle Decks; Karaoke; the NYLA Games; Seven different pre-conference Continuing Education Workshops; and over twelve hours of CE credit!  The NYLA Annual Conference is the not-to-be-missed library event in New York State for 2016!
If this year’s conference will be your first, we have assembled a listing of tips to help you make the most of your experience.  For more details, click here.
Don’t miss this opportunity to engage with peers, explore new ideas and be inspired by what is possible.  For details on the 2016 NYLA Annual Conference, November 2-5, in Saratoga Springs, NY, click here.

NYLA Council Election 2016

We are pleased to announce the results of this year’s Council Election, and to report 674 votes cast (18.4% of eligible voters).

  1. Tim Burke, as President-Elect, who will serve from Nov. 2016 – Nov. 2017 and then as NYLA President from Nov. 2017 – Nov. 2018.
  2. Sandra Echols and Jill Leinung as Councilors-at-Large who will each serve from Nov. 2016 – Nov. 2019
  3. Jennifer Ferriss who will serve as ALA Chapter Councilor from Nov. 2016 – Nov. 2019

(All terms start and end at the given years Annual Conference.)

Congratulations to each of our new Council members!
Bios for each of the new elected Councilors remain available – click here.

Thanks to all who participated in the election process; your vote has helped to shape the future of NYLA.

Many thanks to our other candidates:
Lauren Comito
John Myers
Cece Fuoco
Matthew Bollerman

Details on the results of the Section elections will be posted by the leaders of those groups directly.


Library Advocacy Day 2017
WEDNESDAY, March 1, 2017


As always, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
See you in Saratoga Springs!

Jeremy Johannesen
NYLA Executive Director
518-432-6952 Ext. 101