2018 Ann Gibson Scholarship Reception

Please join the Youth Services Section Executive Board for food and fun at the second annual Ann Gibson Scholarship Reception.

Wednesday, November 7th
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Genesee Brew House
25 Cataract Street
Rochester, 14605

Finger foods, soft drinks, and coffee and hot tea will be provided. There will be a cash bar. Even if you are not attending the conference, you are more than welcome to come to the Ann Gibson Reception. It's a great opportunity to meet colleagues from around the state.

Ann Gibson was a dynamic and dedicated librarian, storyteller, and teacher who made many contributions to the field of Youth Services librarianship. As a founding member of the Genesee Storytellers, she provided in-service workshops on children's literature to both teachers and librarians. During her career in Western New York, Ann was also a guiding force in the University of Rochester's annual storytelling conference. Furthermore, she was an active member of NYLA/YSS and a volunteer for local charities involving children with special needs. In other words, she was an inspiration to us all!

Not only will you have the opportunity to network with your colleagues from around New York State and share in a delicious sampling of foods along with a fantastic view of the Genesee River, but you can help us raise money for the Ann Gibson Scholarship. Each year, YSS awards this scholarship to a worthy graduate student who plans to pursue a career in Youth Services to both help that student pay for graduate school AND to host that student at the NYLA Annual Conference.

Already registered to attend the reception? Invite a friend!

PLEASE NOTE: Tickets to this event are $15 in advance and $20 at the door. (Cash bar.)

To add a ticket to your NYLA Conference registration, please contact membership@nyla.org.

See YOU at the Brew House!