New York Library Association. - The eBulletin

Members on the Move

August 2015

AlaPhoto - Alan Lupackn Lupack has been named director emeritus of the Rossell Hope Robbins Library and the Koller-Collins Center for English Studies at the University of Rochester River Campus Libraries. Lupack served as director of the Robbins Library and the Koller-Collins Center from 1988 until February 2015.

Britt White, director of the North Tonawanda Public Library, is one of the 40 chosen from a competitive national pool to participate in Leading to the Future, a four-day program offered by the American Library Association.

Alicia Abdul and the Albany High School library were awarded a Teen Top 10 grant of the books to suggest for YALSA's Top 10 list.  The library will also host two authors next year (Jack Gantos and Jason Reynolds), and will Skype in two others (Todd Strasser and Dierdre Hall).

University of Rochester River Campus Libraries welcomes the following new hires:

  1. Kathleen Barry, Stack Attendant, Patron Services
  2. Glenn Coykendall, Desktop Support, Library IT Services
  3. Justina Elmore, Social Science Outreach Librarian, Outreach, Learning, and Research Services
  4. Jeff Jones, Section Supervisor, Physics-Optics-Astronomy Library
  5. Mantra Roy, Humanities Outreach Librarian, Outreach Librarian, Outreach, Learning, and Research Services
  6. Declan Ryan, Library Assistant, Patron Services
  7. Adam Traub, Head, Information Discovery Team
  8. Marie Turner, Director, Rossell Hope Robbins Library and Koller-Collins Center for English Studies

Jane Verostek, Associate Librarian at the F. Franklin Moon Library at SUNY ESF has been appointed to work in the SUNY ESF Terrence J. Hoverter Archives and Special Collections.  After being closed for 3 years, the archives and special collections are now open to the ESF community, the public and alumni.

Karen LaRocca-Fels has been appointed as the Director of Ossining Public Library, effective September 1, 2015.

Carrie Fishner will be leaving Franklin Free Library to begin a full time position at SUNY Delhi as the new Outreach & Instruction Librarian.

Ed Falcone was appointed the new director of Yonkers Public Library.

MaryAnn Tweedy assumed the position of Director at the Franklin Square Public Library effective July 31, 2015.  Prior to this, she served as the Assistant Director at Shelter Rock Public Library.

Sarah Glogowski was hired as the new Executive Director of the Finger Lakes Library System.

Sue Considine, Executive Director of the Fayetteville Free Library, will be attending and participating in the Research Institute for Public Libraries in Colorado Springs in July, as well as the first annual invitation-only Public Libraries and STEM conference in Denver in August.

Rochester Regional Libraries held their annual Library of the Year contest.  About 1,500 people submitted nominations, and the following three winners were honored at the Rochester Regional Library Council (RRLC) Annual Meeting:

  1. Arnett Branch/Rochester Public Library - Best Public Library
  2. Greece Craig Hill Elementary School Library - Best School Library
  3. Werner Medical Library, Rochester Regional Health System, Rochester General Hospital - Best Special Library

Jennifer Milligan has joined Manlius Library as its new director.  She was previously the director of the Sherrill-Kenwood Free Library, a member of the Mid-York Library System.  Manlius Library is celebrating its centennial on October 17, 2015.