New York Library Association. - The eBulletin

Members on the Move

June 2015

Sue Considine, Fayetteville Free Library Executive Director, has been invited to participate for the library at both the Capitol Hill Maker Day and the National Maker Faire June 11th-13th.  Sue is also presenting at a Syracuse Startup Grind event on Tuesday, June 9th.

Ann D. Thornton has been appointed as the next University Librarian and Vice Provost at Columbia University.  She comes to Columbia after almost two decades at the New York Public Libraries, where she was the Andrew W. Mellon Director.

Matt DeLaney recently joined the Onondaga County Public Library (OCPL) as Administrative Director.  Matt had been the director of the Manlius (NY) Library and prior to that served as library director for Tully (NY) Free Library.

The Brunswick Community Library has won the Upper Hudson Library System award for Best Youth Services program for their T/ween Club.

Sara Dallas, Director of the Southern Adirondack Library System, was elected an ALA Councilor at large.  Her term will run July 2016 - June 2019.

Christine Richie, Library Clerk I at Beauchamp Library, was one of two employees selected by the OCPL Board of Trustees and Administration to receive the Stepping Up Award, 1st Quarter for 2015.  Each year Christine arranges and chaperones children who participate in NYLA’s Advocacy Day in Albany; this year, she worked with the children to create a banner illustrating many of the programs and projects they enjoy at Beauchamp Library throughout the year.  See a picture of Christine and the kids and read more about this year's Advocacy Day here!

Carol Ann Desch is the 2015 winner of the ASCLA Cathleen Bourdon Service Award for her “outstanding service and tireless leadership.”  Ms. Desch is the Coordinator of Statewide Library Services and Director of the Division of Library Development for the New York State Library.

Carol Cusano recently joined the staff of the New York State Library’s Division of Library Development as a Library Development Specialist.  Dr. Cusano will be a member of Library Development’s Outreach, Networking and Regional Advisory Services Team.

Katie Papas, Library Assistant in the Department of Outreach, Learning, and Research Services at the University of Rochester River Campus Libraries (RCL), has been awarded the RCL’s 2015 Staff Achievement Award for excellence in overall job performance.

Richard Naylor is retiring after more than 30 years in a leadership role, including seven years as director, at the William K. Sanford Town Library.

Evans and Susanna Lam have committed $1 million to the River Campus Libraries at the University of Rochester to establish the Evans and Susanna Lam Library Revitalization Fund.  The fund will support the modernization of the patron services area in Rush Rhees Library, which will be named Evans Lam Square.

Paulette Quinn was presented with the 2015 Outstanding Friend Award by the Library Trustees Association of NYS at the annual Trustee Institute.

Brian Mayer has been named a 2015 Mover and Shaker by the Library Journal.  The full article may be found here.

Elaine Lasda Bergman was awarded the University at Albany President’s Award for Excellence in Librarianship, as well as the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Librarianship this year.

Alex Hoag and Ms. Bergman also jointly won the University at Albany Libraries’ Martha Caroline Pritchard Award for their research project involving collecting and analyzing data to better understand the needs of the Dewey Library user base.

Stephen Almasi, Senior Librarian at Coxsackie Correctional Facility, attended Springfield Illinois native Fritz Klein’s re-enactment of Abraham Lincoln at the New York State Capitol on April 25, the 150th anniversary of President Lincoln’s lying in state in Albany.

Bridget Quinn-Carey, Interim President and CEO of Queens Library, was inducted into the St. John's University Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, the international honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International - The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

The Fayetteville Free Library was cited in an article about STEM education in the Library Journal as the first library to create a makerspace, and for their Library Geek Girl Camp in the summer of 2014.  The full article may be found here.

The NYC Neighborhood Library Awards were held on May 20, 2015 to recognize the tremendous impact public libraries have the diverse communities they serve.  Of the 217 libraries nominated, the following winners were each awarded $20,000:

New Lots Library (Brooklyn Public Library);
The Langston Hughes Community Library and Cultural Center (Queens Library);
Mott Haven Library (New York Public Library);
Stapleton Library (New York Public Library); and
Parkchester Library (New York Public Library).

The following finalists each received $10,000:

Clinton Hill Library (Brooklyn Public Library);
Windsor Terrace Library (Brooklyn Public Library);
Cambria Heights Library (Queens Library);
Sunnyside Library (Queens Library); and
Jefferson Market Library (New York Public Library).

In Memoriam

Deborah Clark Cunningham, Head of Reference at the Harborfields Public Library, passed away on Sunday, May 31st.  Her 22 year career, her work with Long Island Reads, SCLA, RASD, and the Legislative Committee, and her advocacy trips to Albany made an indelible mark on her colleagues, her patrons, and the entire library community.