PLS Awards & Scholarships

PLS offers several awards on an annual basis. The deadline for 2018 was June 29, 2018. Questions can be submitted to:

Public Library Building Awards

PLS offers two building awards each year distinguished by library service area population. In even years, the award is given for renovation work. In odd years, the award is given for new construction.

Conference Scholarship Awards

Awards to encourage public librarians (professional degree not required) now in the field, or students in library school, to participate in NYLA or PLS activities.

Innovative Program Award

The PLS Innovative Program Award recognizes and honors innovative, impactful programs produced in public libraries that are new to the library’s community, fulfill an identified need in the community, and which have a measurable, positive impact on the target audience

Best Practices Award (even years)

This year’s PLS Best Practices Award will be given to a public library or public library system that has focused on the best use of Web technology to promote library services.

L. Marion Moshier/Asa Wynkoop Award for Distinguished Librarianship (odd years)

L. Marion Moshier/Asa Wynkoop Award for Distinguished Librarianship honors a librarian who has given outstanding service to a community of population of 7,500 or less. It is given in odd years and a professional degree is not required.

PLS Leadership & Management Academy Scholarship (NOTE for 2018: This award will resume in 2019 after the L&MA program restructuring is complete).

The Public Libraries Section believes in supporting public librarians, and their pursuit to lead in the field of public librarianship. For this reason, we award a scholarship to the Leadership & Management Academy Scholarship (start date: June of the following year). 

Requests for PLS Programming Support

New York Library Association roundtables and affiliates are eligible to submit a request for conference programming support from PLS. This support is intended to help finance bringing speakers to the annual NYLA conference, or other public library conferences in New York State. 
Each NYLA roundtable or affiliate may submit one request per year. 

  • Awards are offered for up to $1,000, with additional support considered as the annual budget allows. 
  • A maximum of five awards are given each year. 
  • Requests must be submitted by June 30th of each year.
  • Roundtables that receive support will be required to credit PLS in conference publicity.

To apply for PLS programming support, please complete the application form.

2018 PLS Award Winners

Public Library Building Awarda: Renovation
John Jermain Memorial Library
Moffat Library of Washingtonville

Best Practices Award:
Annie Chase - Director, Potsdam Public Library

Innovative Program Award:
Ashley Maraffino, Head of Adult Services, Valley Cottage Library

Conference Scholarship Recipients:
Tina Dalton – Library Director, Cuba Circulating Library
Stephanie Anderson – Librarian, Albany Public Library
Kate Kosior – Library Director, Clifton Community Library
Colleen Smith – Director, Town of Ballston Community Library
Kim Falkowski – Librarian, Buffalo & Erie County Public Library

PLS Award Recipients, 2007 - 2016