New York Library Association. - The eBulletin

New York Library Association to Bestow Awards at 2014 Annual Conference

NYLA will be honoring individuals for their support, leadership and advocacy of libraries at the 121st Annual Conference and Trade Show in November in Saratoga Springs, NY on Friday, November 7.

Awards will be given in out for Outstanding Advocate for Libraries, Outstanding Services to Libraries, and Public Library Innovation.

The NYLA Outstanding Advocate for Libraries Award recognizes and honors an individual who has made a far reaching, sustained contribution to the promotion and/or support of library and information services to the people of New York. The 2014 recipient, Robert Hubsher, is the Executive Director of the Ramapo Catskill Library System. Hubsher has been a leader in library advocacy in New York State, opening up communication between legislators and advocates that was not previously in place. Since 2010, Hubsher has also been coordinator of the NYLA delegation to the National Library Legislative Day, ensuring New York’s voices are heard each year in Washington DC.

The NYLA Outstanding Services to Libraries Award recognizes and honors an individual who has made a significant, sustained contribution to the development, promulgation, growth or extension of library/information services to the people of New York.  This year, it will be presented to NYLA Past-President Matthew Bollerman, Director of the Hauppauge Public Library in Hauppauge, NY. Bollerman has a strong community awareness, and has been responsible for building library facilities using sustainable design principles. Maximizing energy efficiency and the use of natural resources, Bollerman is an example to all members of the library community.

The Mary Bobinski Innovative Public Library Director Award recognizes a public library director who has developed or implemented an innovative program leading to an increase in financial support and/or usage of their library. NYLA will be recognizing Patricia Uttaro, Director of the Rochester Public Library. Under Uttaro’s leadership, public libraries in Rochester have truly become community centers. Uttaro’s efforts have garnered local and national partnerships, as well as new sources of library funding.

Dewey Fellowships are awarded to three NYLA members, selected by designated Sections, to attend the NYLA Annual Conference. The Fellowships are sponsored by the Lake Placid Foundation.

The recpients are:

Kristin Charles-Scaringi, Kingston Library – representing LAMS

Laura Dickerson, Shelter Island Public Library Society – representing PLS

Sarah Maximiek, Binghamton University – representing SMART

All of these individuals will be recognized on Friday, November 7th during NYLA’s Annual Inaugural Banquet & Awards Ceremony. Visit for details on attending.