New York Library Association. - The eBulletin

Debby Emerson Elected NYLA President 2015-16

Debby Emerson, Executive Director of the Central NY Library Resources Council, has been elected NYLA President.  She will serve as president from Nov. 2015 – Nov. 2016.  She has been a member of NYLA for almost 24 years becoming a member in February 1991.  “Someone coerced me into helping with the RASS Noted Author Luncheon,” Emerson told the e-Bulletin.  “The rest is history.”

She sees the NYLA presidency as an opportunity to give something back to an organization that has been helpful to her throughout her library career. “Thanks to my involvement with NYLA, I know people from all types of libraries all over the state. This is a huge value to me as a library professional,” said Emerson.  “When people ask questions about almost any library-related topic, if I don't know the answer, I can at least direct them to someone who will know the answer.”  She believes that it is the members - both individual and institutional - that make NYLA a strong and viable organization.  Plans for her presidency are to visit NYLA members in many areas, listen to their hopes and needs, and do her best to bring their ideas to fruition.

When asked what her favorite NYLA memories were she gave three:

  1. Jeremy wearing Melvil's tux at a NYLA conference, because of a bet.
  2. Jeremy taking it all in stride the year I served as ASLS programmer, and neglected to turn in any of the required forms in a timely fashion. He simply said "No problem!" and made everything happen as if it were, indeed, not a problem.
  3. And being in a fashion show at the scholarship bash at a past conference in Saratoga. I mean, where else would I get to wear a $750 designer outfit, complete with accessories?

Others elected to NYLA offices were:

Rebecca Lubin and Sue Kowalski as Councilors-at-Large who will each serve from Nov. 2014 – Nov. 2017.

Claudia Depkin, as Treasurer-Elect, who will serve from Nov. 2014 – Nov. 2015, and then as NYLA Treasurer from Nov. 2015 – Nov. 2017.

For full election results, click here.