New York Library Association. - The eBulletin

Members on the Move

August 2014

Marilyn Ackerman of BookOps at the Brooklyn Public Library and New York Public Library will retire on August 22, 2014.

Sue Considine, Director, announced that the Fayetteville Public Library’s FabLab has recently received publicity in the UK’s New Scientist Magazine and in The Eagle Bulletin.

Valerie Colston was recently selected to be included in a group show titled HOME at the Orange County Center for Contemporary Art in Santa Ana, California.  Colston, author of Teens Go Green! Tips, Techniques, Tools, and Themes for YA Programming (Libraries Unlimited), has developed a series of Librarian workshops online located here.

The Comsewogue Public Library in Port Jefferson Station has hired Audrey Asaro as the new Head of Youth and Family Services. Asaro was previously a member of the Youth and Parent Services Department at the Huntington Public Library.

Julie DeLisle is the new director of the Chatham Public Library. She was previously director of the Brunswick Public Library.

Muriel Feldshuh’s “Traveling Exhibit Celebrating Children's Books” is on display at the main branch of the Siouxland Libraries in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. Her literary quilt exhibit includes seven quilts with contributions from 189 children's book illustrators as well as quotes from children's book authors.

Cassie Guthrie is now the director of the Greece Public Library.

Elizabeth Hobson has taken a new position at the Nyack Library managing the Technical Services Department, Computer Resource Center and Outreach Departments as the Head of Technology and Outreach. Hobson previously spent fourteen years in Youth Services at the Nyack Library Children's and Teen Rooms.

Nancy Howe announced that Judy Lease was the winner of the annual Ruth M. Connell Award at the Baldwinsville Public Library.

Director Suzanne Johnson and Assistant Director Lisa Jacobs announced that the Longwood Public Library’s Young Adult Services Department took top honors in a national video contest sponsored by Brainfuse, an online homework help and learning service which the library offers to its patrons.

Scott Jarzombek is the new Executive Director of the Albany Public Library.

Leah LaFera has joined the Schenectady County Public Library's Main Branch as a Librarian II in the Adult Services Department. She was previously the Director of the Canajoharie Library & Arkell Museum.

The Larchmont Public Library is a recipient of a Better World Books 2014 Leap for Libraries grant for its Sensory Storytime project. LEAP funds literacy and educational nonprofits and libraries for specific projects — the front lines of the fight to reduce global poverty through education.

Sheri Levasseur, Teen Services Librarian at Tappan Public Library in Tappan, NY, has been selected from a pool of more than 400 applicants to participate in the Library of Congress Teaching with Primary Sources Summer Teacher Institute for the week of July 21-25, 2014. Levasseur will also serve as a leave replacement school media specialist/teacher librarian at Nanuet High School this fall.

S. Rebecca Lubin, Assistant Director at the Voorheesville Public Library, has accepted the position as Head of Branches at the Albany Public Library starting August 25, 2014.

Sister Helen Mary McKeever, retired assistant librarian and director of the library at Immaculate Heart Central in Watertown, NY, passed away on June 9, 2014. She was the recipient of the 1990 New York Library Association Award for Commendable Service in Librarianship. 

The Middle Country Public Library has appointed Ryan Gessner as assistant director.  

The Mid-Hudson Library System has announced the appointment of Thomas O’Connell to the position of Automation Coordinator. O’Connell joins the Mid-Hudson Library System on July 7, 2014.

The Mid-Hudson Library System’s Coordinator for Library Sustainability, Rebekkah Smith Aldrich, has been elected to the first board of the American Library Association's brand new Sustainability Round Table.

Michael J. Miller has been appointed as Chief Librarian and Chair of the Library Department of the Bronx Community College, The City University of New York.

The Nazareth College of Rochester, Lorette Wilmot Library and Media Center’s Catherine (Kate) Collier has retired as June 30, 2014.

Jeffrey Olson, Associate Provost for Academic Assessment and Director of Library and Information Science, has retired from St. John’s University.

The Rochester Regional Library Council has announced the winners of the 2014 RRLC Library of the Year contest.

John Shaloiko, Executive Director of Southeastern NY Library Resources Council, announced that the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum is the winner of first annual SENYLRC Twila Snead Award for Excellence to honor the work the library has done in creating their new online virtual research room and digital repository, known as “FRANKLIN.”

Kate Shanahan and Katharine St. Laurent are joining Solvay Union Free School District as the Library Media Specialists at Solvay Elementary School and Solvay High School, respectively.

Frederick Stoss, associate librarian and subject specialist for biological and environmental sciences and mathematics at the University at Buffalo, has received the first Friend of the Biblioteca Nacional Aruba (BNA, National Library of Aruba) Award for his work with the BNA in green education programming and for helping to create the library’s Caribbean Energy, Environmental, and Sustainability Program.

Mary Trev Thomas, Assistant Director at Bethlehem Public Library, is retiring in August. In addition, her drawings were featured in Medea: a novel by Richard Matturro, which was published by Livingston Press in June 2014.

Phyllis Vail, of Warwick, passed away on May 19, 2014. She retired in 2008 as Director of the Port Jervis Free Library.

The Waverly Free Library appointed Todd R. Williams as the new library director beginning July 1st.