New York Library Association. - The eBulletin

Empire State Award Winner Announced

By Laura Panter, Committee Chair

The Youth Services Section of the New York Library Association is pleased to announce that the winner of the 2014 Empire State Award for Excellence in Literature for Young People is Jaqueline Woodson.  Ms. Woodson will be honored at a luncheon on Friday, November 7, 2014 during the Association’s annual conference in Saratoga Springs, NY.

First awarded in 1990, the Empire State Award is given to an author and/or illustrator currently residing in New York State to honor a significant body of work in the field of literature for young people.

Born in Columbus, Ohio and raised in Brooklyn, New York, where she currently resides, Jacqueline Woodson is a prolific and accomplished author. She has won several lifetime achievement awards including the 2006 Margaret A. Edwards Award in writing for young adults, the 2010 St. Katherine Drexel Award, and the 2012 Anne V. Zarrow Award for Young Reader’s Literature, as well as being shortlisted for the 2014 Hans Christian Andersen Award.  She has received three Newbery Honors for the books After Tupac & D Foster, Feathers, and Show Way. She won the Coretta Scott King award and the Los Angeles Times Book Award for Miracle’s Boys and had three CSK author honors for From the Notebooks of Melanin Sun, I Hadn’t Meant to Tell You This, and Locomotion.  She won a Caldecott Honor for Coming on Home Soon, the Jane Addams Peace Award for Each Kindness and has been a National Book Award finalist twice for Hush and Locomotion in addition to a long list of notable books recognized nationwide.  

Past recipients of this award include Maurice Sendak, Madeleine L’Engle, Vera Williams, Donald Crews, Jean Craighead George, Jerry Pinkney, Joseph Bruchac, Linda Sue Park, Laura Vaccaro Seeger, Bruce Coville and last year’s honoree, Laurie Halse Anderson.  The Empire State Award committee is pleased to welcome Jacqueline Woodson to this group.