New York Library Association. - The eBulletin

Members on the Move

April 2014

Elizabeth Bouchard of Maria College was the 2012 recipient of the ASLS Innovation Award. She recently used her award funds to purchase a curio cabinet for her library to display rare books and interesting items from their collection.

Jen Cannell is the new School Library System Director at Questar III.

Carrie Fishner is the new Director at the Franklin Free Library in Franklin, NY.

Cady Fontana has joined the staff of the Edith B. Ford Memorial Library in Ovid, NY as a librarian.

Loida Garcia-Febo, President of Information New Wave, spoke at a meeting organized by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) on data accountability for the post-2015 development agenda.

Laura Grunwerg, author of One Hamlet, Many Blauvelts, is the new Director of the Blauvelt Free Library in Blauvelt, NY.

Amanda Ingalls is the new Library Media Specialist at Stockbridge Valley Central School District in Munnsville, NY.  

Lisa Kochik, Head of Youth Services, has announced that the Newburgh Free Library (Newburgh, NY) is one of 15 libraries nationwide selected to receive a DIA: Diversity in Action mini-grant from ALSC, DIA, and Dollar General Literacy Foundation for a program called Explore More: Family Book Clubs.

Matthew LaBrake, former School Library Media Specialist/Library Automation Specialist for the Dutchess BOCES School Library System, has accepted a position as the Library Director for Online Degree Programs at Berkeley College.

Rachel Lee has been named director of the Waverly Free Library.

Jennifer McCreery is the new director of the Desmond-Fish Library.

The NY 3Rs Association has appointed Kerri Willette as the Empire State Digital Network Manager as part of its Information Infrastructure for New York (I2NY) initiatives. ESDN, managed by METRO in partnership with the NY 3Rs Association, is the NYS "service hub" for the Digital Public Library of America.

Trina Reed is the new director of the Levittown Public Library. Reed is the former director of the Uniondale Public Library.

Christina Ryan-Linder, former Young Adult Librarian at the Pearl River Public Library, is now the Youth Services Librarian II at the Finkelstein Memorial Library in Spring Valley, NY.

Natalie Schipano, December 2014 graduate of SUNY Buffalo and new Youth Services Librarian at the Castleton Public Library, has stepped in to fill a vacancy on the YSS Scholarship Committee.

Kai Alexis Smith, Adjunct Reference Librarian at the CUNY Graduate Center, is a part of the 2014 Emerging Leaders class and is featured in the March/April edition of American Libraries.

Jennifer Stamp announced that the Theodore Roosevelt Library received a $500 book grant from Target in recognition of their efforts in encouraging a lifelong love of reading. The grant will be used to purchase a variety of fiction and nonfiction books for the library.

Michol Tuttle, the new director of the Galway Public Library, has begun the planning process for a proposed new building project.