In 1991, NYLA/SSL established the Knickerbocker Award for Juvenile Literature. It recognizes a New York State author who has demonstrated, through a body of work, a consistently superior quality which supports the curriculum and the educational goals of New York State Schools.The award is named for a group of 19th century New York State authors who wished to nurture a national literature. It is presented annually to a living author/illustrator currently residing in New York State.

Tiffany and Company designed the crystal award for which Beverly Choltco Devlin designed the graphic. NYLA/SSL members may nominate a New York State author or illustrator by submitting this form, filled out in its entirety, to the Knickerbocker Award Chairperson by March 31st of a given year.

Nominated authors will be placed on an electronic ballot, with voting by NYLA/SSL members to be held that May. The nomination form must accompany all nominations to be accepted for this vote.

This is your opportunity not only to help recognize an outstanding author/illustrator, but also to help choose the banquet speaker for the NYLA/SSL Spring Conference!

2021 Winner - Bryan Collier


Past Knickerbocker Award Winners


To assist with your nomination, and for your information, here is a partial listing of authors and illustrators living in New York State. Also check out:

Questions and nominations for next year's winner may be sent to:

Tara Thibault-Edmonds