The Empire State Award for Excellence in Literature for Young People

Presented by the Youth Services Section of the New York Library Association


About the ESA

Current Winner

Past Winners

About YSS

About NYLA

The Empire State Award is given annually and was first presented in 1990. It is a one-time award presented to a living author or illustrator currently residing in New York State.

The award honors a body of work that represents excellence in children’s or young adult literature and that has made a significant contribution to literature for young people. The award is presented to the winning author or illustrator at the Annual Conference of the New York Library Association.

Any member of the Youth Services Section is eligible to submit a suggestion to the Committee Chair. The Committee members will consider these suggestions along with their own. The decision for the Award rests with the Committee and is approved by the YSS Executive Board. The three committee members must have a working knowledge of children's and young adult literature, and sufficient experience in Youth Services to have developed an understanding of the body of children's and young adult literature.

The deadline for suggestions for the 2015 Empire State Award is December 1, 2013. Please fill out this form if you would like to suggest an author for consideration.