The NYLS/SSL Board encourages members to be involved with our association! Please read the brief descriptions of the NYLS/SSL committees. If you think that you might be interested in serving on a committee, click the email link to the committee chair and send them a message. New committee members are appointed by the incoming NYLS/SSL President immediately following the NYLA Annual Conference in the fall.

Awards Committee

Dawn Pressimone, Chair (dpressimone at waynecsd dot org)
Ontario Elementary School
P.O. Box 155
Ontario Center, NY

Committee Members
Christine Banuls
Gail Brisson
Karie Doelger
Aileen Behringer
The Awards committee will be responsible for soliciting and reviewing applications for the following awards:

  1.     Beatrice E. Griggs Elementary Administrator's Award
  2.     Robert E. Barron Cultural Media Award
  3.     NYLA/SSL Scholarship Award Sponsored by Follett
  4.     NYLA/SSL Secondary Administrator's Award
  5.     Beatrice E. Griggs Scholarship
  6.     NYLA/SSL Dewey Fellow Award
  7.     NYLA/SSL Gale Fellow Conference Award
  8.     Carol Kearney Leadership Institute Scholarships
  9.     Knickerbocker NYLA/SSL Scholarships


Membership Committee

Maureen Squire, Chair

Committee Members
The purpose of the Membership Committee is to increase NYLA/SSL membership through retaining current members and recruiting new members. The committee is made up of the Region Coordinators and Affiliates Chair.

3 Apples Book Awards Committee

Arlene Laverde, Chair (alaverd2 at schools dot nyc dot gov)

The purpose of the 3 Apples Committee is to encourage the joy of reading for pleasure and to give NYS students the opportunity to participate in honoring their favorite books. The 3 Apples Book Awards are co-sponsored by the Youth Services Section and the School Library Media Section of the New York Library Association, which together represent the public and school libraries of New York State.

Educational Leadership Committee

Sara Kelly Johns, Co-Chair (skjohns at gmail dot com)
Lisa Perkowski, Co-Chair (lehnski16 at gmail dot com)

Committee Members
Jill Leinung, ex-officio

The Educational Leadership Committee - will advocate for leadership development of school library media specialists on an on-going basis in New York State.  The Committee will consult with the NYLA/SSL organization and its affiliates on issues relating to leadership and provide assistance as is appropriate.  It will plan the summer Leadership Retreat and the Educational Leadership speaker for the annual NYLA/SSL conference.  Traditionally the committee members are all of the NYLA/SSL Presidents and Past-Presidents, Presidents-Elect and the Treasurer.

Knickerbocker Award Committee

Penny Sweeney, Chair (psweeney at liverpool dot k12 dot ny dot us)

Committee Members

Christina Johnson
Bev Choltco-Devlin
Jill Leinung
Beth Davis

The purpose of the Knickerbocker Committee is to nominate a NYS author for this special award. Its first presentation was at the 1991 NYLA/SSL Spring Conference.

Ways and Means Committee

Sue Padjen, Chair (spadjen at esmschools dot org)