Members on the Move

Mary Ayers is the new director of the Mount Kisco Public Library.

Elizabeth Bouchard, a librarian at Maria College Library and Bethlehem Public Library co-authored a journal article entitled, "We're Here for the Bodies : How the Monastery of the Immaculate Conception Became Part of Maria College," which has been accepted for publication by American Catholic Studies, a peer-reviewed journal from Villanova University. 

Sue Considine, Fayetteville Free Library Executive Director and NYLA PLS President, and Lauren Britton, Fayetteville Free Library Transliteracy Development Director NYLA LAMS Board member, were the keynote speakers for “MADE In a Library,” an online innovation symposium presented by OCLC. Topics centered on what happens when you take a place that has traditionally been about learning and transform it into a place of doing and making.  Speakers discussed how librarians, teachers, students, faculty and communities are turning their focus to creation—whether providing digital tools for game makers, programmers, musicians and authors, or makerspaces for 3-D printing and other “real-life” projects.  Participants continued the conversation on twitter. You can follow the conversation using hash tag #libmade.

Congratulations to these NYLA members for their ALA Election wins!









Kelly Delevan has been appointed Instructional Services/CORE Librarian at Le Moyne College's Noreen Reale Falcone Library.

Margaux DelGuidice, school librarian at Garden City High School and a children's services librarian at the Freeport Memorial Library, and Rose Luna, school librarian at Freeport High School and a bilingual reference librarian at the Freeport Memorial Library, have published their first book with Libraries Unlimited.  Make a Big Impact @ Your School Board Meeting is a valuable resource for all librarians looking to be advocates for their library programs and contains practical tips and tools, including a CD with customizable forms and a PowerPoint presentation.

Muriel Feldshuh’s Story Banner Project is being shared with several schools in TN while her Poetry Banners are on display at four Brooklyn Public Libraries through June.

Donna Hanus will retire as the Franklin-Essex-Hamilton School Library System Director on June 30.  She has been its only Director since the School Library System was created in 1984.

Jill Hurst-Wahl, an associate professor of practice in Syracuse University's School of Information Studies and director of its Library & Information Science program, was given the 2012 Jeffrey Katzer Professor of the Year Award by graduate students in Syracuse University's School of Information Studies. Established in honor of former Professor and Interim Dean Jeffrey Katzer, this award recognizes a full-time faculty member for outstanding teaching, advising and service.
Andrew P. Jackson co-edited The 21st Century Black Librarian in America:   Issues and Challenges (ISBN:  978-0-8108-8245-4). This book is a tribute to activist librarian, founder of the Black Caucus of the ALA and Past-President of ALA (1984) Dr. E.J. Josey (1924-2009). This collection of essays covers a multiplicity of concerns for the 21st Century Black librarian and embodies compassion and respect for the provision of information. The essays are personable, inspiring, and thought provoking for all library professionals, regardless of race, class, or gender.

Corinna Mansfield is the new school librarian at the American International School in Cyprus.  Mansfield’s blog,, has been receiving a lot of positive email. 

Patti McCall is the new Reference/Instruction Librarian at the University of Central Florida in Orlando. 

Mary Redmond, formerly of the New York State Library staff and now a volunteer there, was interviewed for the American Library Association Government Documents Round Table oral history project, which profiles members of the government information community who have donated much of their careers to the field.

Barbara Stripling received the 2012 New York State School Library System Distinguished Service Award for her outstanding contribution to school libraries and The School Library System Association. Barbara quoted Andrew Carnegie during her SLSA Distinguished Service Award acceptance speech, “Teamwork is the ability to work together toward a common vision.”  Barbara said, “We (School Library Systems) have a strong vision for school libraries in New York and we are working together to bring that vision into reality.  Everything we have accomplished has been a result of our teamwork.”

Eric Trahan, Director of the Canajoharie Library & Art Gallery, has been appointed the new Executive Director of the Mohawk Valley Library System.

In memoriam - Charles M. Welden, a trustee at the Margaret Reaney Memorial Library passed away unexpectedly Wednesday, May 9, 2012.

Michelle Young, formerly of the Oceanside Library, has been appointed the new Library Director of the Island Park Public Library.

April Younglove, former RRLC librarian, is now a Digital Initiatives Librarian at RIT.

Dr. Nancy Zimmerman, NYLA Past President, was elected to the Board of Trustees of the Freedom to Read Foundation. The Freedom to Read Foundation was established in 1969 as a First Amendment legal defense organization affiliated with the American Library Association.