Mary Bobinski Innovative Public Library Director Award


The award was established in 2010 by Dr. George Bobinski, Dean and Professor Emeritus of Library and Information Studies at the University of Buffalo, to commemorate the memory and accomplishments of his wife, Mary Bobinski, Director of the Amherst Public Library in Erie County from 1973-2006. She was a past President of NYLA’s Public Library Section (PLS) and past President of the Public Library Directors Association. Mary Bobinski passed away on November 20, 2009.


Mary Bobinski


Given to a public library director who during the past two years developed or implemented an innovative program leading to an increase in financial support and/or usage of their library by:
•    Demonstrating the value and importance of their public library to community leaders and local government officials.
•    Enhancing the image of the public library through an innovative public relations program publicizing the resources and services in multiple media formats.
•    Developing new programs and services to attract users and non-users.

Evidence of success includes the following:
•    Increase in library usage through such measures as circulation figures, attendance statistics, library cardholders, etc.
•    Increase in financial support in the regular budget and/or in gifts and contributions from the community.
Recipient must be a NYLA member and attend the Annual Conference to receive the award.



Recipient will receive a check in the amount of $1,500 [increased from $1,200 at the request of Dr. Bobinski]

Recipient will be acknowledged at the Awards Banquet at NYLA’s Annual Conference, on the NYLA website, and in the NYLA Voice.



Previous Recipients


2023 - Eugenia Schatoff, Pearl River Public Library

2022 - Tamara Gaskell, Roeliff Jansen Community Library

2021 - Nickie Marquis, Skaneateles Library

2020 - Melissa Tacke, Casleton Public Library (stipend increased to $1500)

2019 - Caitlin Johnson, Schuylerville Public Library

2018 - Galina Chernykh, Harrison Public Library

2017 - Carol McCrossen, Moffat Library Of Washingtonville

2016 - Chris Finger, Geneva Public Library

2015 - Pauline Emery, Southeast Steuben County Library

2014 - Patty Uttaro, Rochester Public Library

2013 - Judith Wines, Altamont Free Library

2012 - Susan Considine, Fayetteville Free Library

2011 - Thomas W. Galante, Chief Executive Officer, Queens Library

2010 - Brian Hildreth, Director, David A. Howe Library