Senator Hugh Farley Outstanding Advocate for Libraries Award


Senator Farley pictured with the 2016 recipient of the Senator Hugh T. Farley Outstanding Advocate for Libraries Award, Senator Thomas O'Mara, and NYLA Presidents, past, present, and future.



To recognize and honor an individual who, or a group that, has made a far reaching, sustained contribution to the promotion and/or support of library and information services to the people of New York State or residents within a designated service area within the State. Recognition may include lifetime NYLA membership, citation, and gift.


An individual who is not an employee or trustee of a library or information service or a group without a primary library affiliation that has worked to improve attitudes or support for library and information services.

Awards may be considered for significant contributions in at least one of the following:

Previous Recipients

2019 - Assemlymember Patricia Fahy

2018 - Bernard (Bernie) Margolis

2017 - Assemblywoman Michaelle C. Solages

2016 - Senator Thomas O'Mara

2015 - Senator Betty Little

2014 - Robert Hubsher, Ramapo Catskill Library System

2013 - Joe Eisner, Planview-Old Bethpage Public Library

2012- New Yorkers for Better Libraries PAC

2011 - Libby Post, Communication Services
            Jimmy Van Brammer, Christine C. Quinn, Domenic J. Recchia; New York City Council

2010 - Ellen M. Bach & Robert T. Schofield, Attorneys, Whiteman, Osterman & Hanna LLP

2009 - Vincent Gentile, Council Member, NYC Council

2008 - Amy Paulin, NYS Assembly

2007 - Honorable Vincent Leibell III, NYS Senate

2006 - Ross Kitt & Phyllis Pittman Kitt

2005 - The Honorable Sandra Galef - NYS Assembly

2004 - Edward A. Diana

2003 - Edward L. McCormick

2002 - Senator Thomas W. Libous

2001 - Richard D. Mills, NYS Commissioner of Education

2000 - The Regents Commission on Library Services

1999 - James C. Dawson

1998 - John Lansing

1997 - Assemblyman Ed Sullivan

1996 - Assemblyman Marty Luster

1995 - No Nominee

1994 - De Witt Wallace - Readers Digest Fund

1993 - Anna Lobosco


Additional Previous Recipients

Nat Hentoff, Gordon Ambach, Laura Chodos. Citizens to Save Libraries, Buffalo, Elliot Goldstein. Brooke Astor, Harold Hacker, Claire Shulman, Major Owens, Dr. Barry Farnham.

Want to nominate someone for this award? Click here for the nomination form! Nominations are due by June 15th.