SMART Awards

SMART Ellen C. Rappaport Professional Achievement Award

This award was renamed in 2003 to honor Ellen C. Rappaport. This award aims to recognize the outstanding professional achievements of a current or former Section on Management of Information Resources and Technology member. A recipient shall have been a Section member for a minimum of three years and shall have made outstanding contributions in one or more of the following areas: acquisitions, cataloging, circulation, collection management, conservation/preservation, serial control, or automation. The recipient selected by the Section’s award committee will receive a plaque and award of $100 to be presented at the NYLA Annual Conference.


2015 - Amanda Fleming - ILS & Technical Services Manager, Southern Tier Library System
2014 - John Myers - Catalog Librarian, Union College - Schaffer Library
2013 - Barbara Nichols Randall - Director, Guilderland Public Library
2012 - Robert C. Dowd - Temporary Assistance Specialist, Center for Employment and Economic Supports, NYS Office of Temporary and Disability Assistance
2011 - Laura Osterhout - Member Services Librarian, Rochester Regional Library Council
2010 - J. James Mancuso - Niskayuna, NY
2009 - no recipient
2008 - no recipient
2007 - Linda Clark Benedict - Hobart and William Smith College
2006 - no recipient
2005 - Diane Berry - Mid-York Library System
2004 - Marilyn E. Douglas - New York State Division of Library Development
2003 - Maggie Horn - SUNY Office of Library & Information Services State University  
2002 - Mary Elizabeth Jones - New York State Division of Library Development 
2001 - Jennifer Morris - Pioneer Library System 
2000 - Sharon Bonk - Queens College, City University of New York 
1999 - Maribeth Krupczak - Union College 
1998 - Duane Watson - retired from NYPL 
1997 - Gail Golderman - Union College 
1996 - Nancy Heller - Schenectady County Community College 
1995 - Ellen Rappaport - Albany Law School 
1994 - Marilyn Moody - University at Buffalo

The Teresa Strozik Software Development Grant

This grant is a biennial opportunity (started in 2019) for NYLA members to receive up to $1,000 for either individual or group software projects that would benefit the New York state library community. Proposals may involve risk. The project results – be they success, failure, or a combination thereof – must offer valuable information to the library field and provide the potential for improvement in the ways libraries operate and/or serve their communities. Grantees are required to submit a short white paper to be publicly posted and shared with the field at the completion of the grant period.  Details of The Teresa Strozik Software Development Grant.


2023 -
2021 - no recipient
2019 - no recipient

The Teresa Strozik Award for Innovation in Library Technology

Teresa Strozik exemplified leadership within the New York State library community through innovations in technical services. In 2009, the SMART Board created this award to honor Teresa and those who follow in her path. This award recognized current NYLA members for the innovative use of technology in a library or information setting. The recipients of this award embraced new and emerging technologies by incorporating them into their work and/or programs. For the purposes of this award, technology was defined as traditional library technologies (cataloging, ILL, ILS, etc.) or other technologies (websites, communication tools, etc.). The recipients selected by the Section’s award committee received a plaque and an award of $100 presented at the NYLA Annual Conference. The recipients gave a brief overview of their technology innovation during the NYLA Annual Conference. This award was replaced by The Teresa Strozik Software Development Grant in 2019.


2016 - Shannon Pritting - Director of Library and Learning Resources, SUNY Polytechnic Institute AND Michael Mulligan - Senior Database Administrator, SUNY Upstate Medical University and Senior Software Architect at IDS Project
2015 - Christine Stockslader - School Librarian, Lancaster Central School District
2014 - William Jones III - IDS Project Creative Technologist, Milne Library, SUNY Geneseo
2013 - Mary Linda Todd - Technology and Federal Aid Team Leader, New York State Library
2012 - Renee Wiles - Librarian, East Syracuse High School AND Katharine St. Laurent - Circulation Clerk, Fayetteville Free Library [for "Spar(tan)Trek: Interactive Web-based Library Orientation]
2011 - Carol Anne Germain - Information Literacy Librarian, University at Albany
2010 - John F. Myers - Catalog Librarian - Schaffer Library, Union College

SMART Fellowship Award

This award recognizes a Technical or Computer Services Librarian looking to gain professional benefits from the continuing education and professional contacts with librarians and vendors provided by attendance at the NYLA Annual Conference. The award is given based on the applicant’s professional activities in her/his place of employment and future potential in this area. This award is designed for individuals who have been members of SMART for less than 5 years. The award includes a $250 reimbursement towards NYLA Conference expenses.


2023 -
2022 - no recipient
2021 - no recipient
2020 - no recipient
2019 - no recipient
2018 - Rebekah Jarvis-Girtler - Digital Services Librarian, William K. Sanford Town Library
2016 - Lisa Hewel - Head Of Circulation and Technology, Josephine-Louise Public Library
2015 - Emily Lunceford - Digital Technology Coordinator, Manlius Library
2013 - Ben Lainhart - Technology Librarian, Sidney Memorial Public Library
2011 - Jill Tarabula - Systems & Technical Services Librarian, Clinton Community College
2008 - no recipient
2007 - no recipient
2006 - Tom Cohn - Huntington Public Library
2005 - Julia Schult - SUNY Cortland
2004 - no recipient
2003 - no recipient
2002 - Kim Wobick - New York State Newspaper Project
2001 - Jo Anne C. Ellis - SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
2000 - Lesli LaRocco - South Central Regional Library Council
1999 - Michelle L. Moorhead - Capital District Library Council
1998 - Carol Anne - Germain Univerisity at Albany
1997 - Dennis Fabiszak - Mastics-Moriches-Shirley Community Library
1996 - Linda Clark Benedict - Pioneer Library System
1995 - Margaret Lanoue - Sage Colleges
1994 - Ellen Reynolds - Geneva Free Library
1993 - Heather Blenkinsopp - Mercy College
1992 - J.James Mancuso - Capital District Library Council

NYLA Dewey Fellowship Award

Dewey Fellowships are awarded to three NYLA members, selected by designated Section, to attend the NYLA Annual Conference. The Dewey Fellowship pays for up to $1000 of the cost of attendance at the NYLA Annual Conference. Additionally, each Dewey Fellow will receive a $100 Gift Certificate for use at the NYLA store and will be acknowledged on NYLA's website, at the Annual Conference, and in the NYLA Bulletin. For more information, see the Dewey Fellowship page.


2023 -
2021 - no recipient
2019 - John Myers - Catalog & Metadata Librarian, Union College
2017 - Nicholas Tanzi - Assistant Director, Mastics Moriches Shirley Community Library
2014 - Sarah Maximiek - Subject Librarian for Political Science & Public Administration, Binghamton University Libraries
2012 - April Steenburgh - Director, GFJ Public Computing Center, Deposit Free Library