Members on the Move

Read about Brentwood Public Library’s summer lunch program. Summer Lunch

Kim Falkowski began as a faculty Senior Assistant Librarian with UB Libraries (SUNY at Buffalo) on July 25, 2019. She joined the Science & Engineering Information Center team and is excited to be the new liaison for the Map Collection, Geography and GIS. Kim was formerly the Buffalo & Erie County Public Library as Bookmobile Branch Manager

Nancy Howe, formerly Librarian II, has been promoted to Assistant Director of the Baldwinsville Public Library.  Nancy joined the staff at the Bville Library in 2010 to administer a Broadband Technology Opportunities Program and was appointed to the permanent staff at the end of the grant period.  She has been the public relations and outreach librarian.  In addition to continuing those duties Nancy will work with the director in the administration of library services and long-range planning.  She will also have direct supervision of custodial and substitute professional staff.   

Irondequoit Public Library staff along with Town and local officials unveiled a custom Little Free Library on the town hall campus. This structure is part of a larger initiative to catalog all little free libraries in Irondequoit. Once the cataloging process is complete, residents will be encouraged to visit participating LFLs. The overall goal of the initiative is to highlight a sense of community and a love of reading.

The Livonia Public Library welcomes, Grace Frenzel as the new Youth Services Coordinator.

Bill Loveland has joined the Manlius Library team as our Pubic Services Librarian while Claire Lovell has taken on the role of Youth Services Librarian. Alexandra Bastian has been promoted to IT Manager, also overseeing Technical Services. Patricia Ruggeri retired after over 30 years of service!

The Central New York School Librarians announced the Soaring Through Excellence Super Librarian Award. This year four super librarians were selected, Mary Klucznik from Chittenango High School, Anne Mlod Genesee Elementary in Auburn, Mary Patroulis with Fayetteville-Manlius High School, and Jessica Regitano from Chittenango Middle School. The intention of the Soaring with Excellence Super Librarian Award is to honor librarians in the Central New York region who have made significant contributions to envisioning and building the future of school library services.
The final phase of construction of the new Oneida Public Library is underway. The new building is on the 3.1-acre site between Main and Elizabeth streets in Oneida, and it is anticipated that the 16,000 square-foot facility will be substantially completed in June 2020, while the library’s staff and materials will move in at the end of the following month.


The Pioneer Library System Board of Trustees appointed Ron Kirsop as Executive Director. He began his new role on July 18th.  

Chuck Thomas, director of Newburgh Free Library, honored as the recipient of the City of Newburgh's Mayor Judy Kennedy Citizens' Award at the Newburgh Illuminated Festival on June 1, 2019.  This year the festival became one of the Hudson Valley's largest with an estimated crowd of 40,000 people.

The Westerlo Public Library Board of Trustees is pleased to announce that Debbie Scott has been appointed Library Director, effective August 5, 2018.  Prior to this appointment, Debbie served as a Librarian at Veeder Elementary School in South Colonie.  She began her career as Library Director at Heermance Memorial Library in Coxsackie.  She holds a Master of Library Science degree from SUNY – Albany. Sue Hoadley, Library Director at Westerlo Public Library, retired at the end of July 2019.  She served as director for nine years, shepherding the library through numerous construction projects, culminating in the completion of the new Hannay Community Room in 2018.