NYLA Above & Beyond Award

Nomination Form for the NYLA Above & Beyond Award (PDF)

The award honors individuals who have made significant contributions of recognized service to NYLA and the library profession.  Any person may nominate an individual for the NYLA Above & Beyond Award.

Any NYLA member who:
1.    has been active NYLA members for at least ten years, and
2.    who has made substantial contributions to the Association.

Significant contributions may include, but are not limited to, regularly contributing to the Association's publications for five or more years, presenting or leading workshops or sessions at several of the Association's annual conferences, or serving in elected or appointed offices in the Association for five or more years.

Nomination suggestions should be sent to the current NYLA president, who, in consultation with the NYLA Awards Committee, will make a recommendation to NYLA Council.

This award was established in 2014.

Previous Recipients

2018 - Carol Desch

2017 - Kathy Miller

2016 - Rocco Staino

2015 - Richard Naylor

2014 - Lisa Wemett


The NYLA Above and Beyond Award replaced the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Previous Lifetime Achievement Recipients

2013 - Marcia Eggleston and Meg Van Patten

2011 - Sarah Kelly Johns

2010 - Frances R. Roscello